Skip to content
January 4, 2012 / amberwoodterracechiro

Elkhart Lions: What a great audience!

Last night, I had the pleasure of speaking to a group of individuals about health and wellness. I do these presentations fairly often and every talk consists of similar content but every audience is a little bit different.  As I looked out at the faces, I saw one elderly couple that caught my eye.  Although they were older, they were walking around without walkers, needed no microphone in order to hear me, and looked as sharp as ever!  I had to inquire about their age (I’m kind of nosey), and I was floored when the woman said “92!”  I thought to myself, “Wow, not the typical 92-year-old image!”  I proceeded to go on with my presentation and as I began to ask health questions, this woman knew all the answers.  Not only did she have the answer to all my health questions that most people get wrong, the information came rolling out of her mouth without hesitation.  Here I am, a young doctor, preaching the same ideas that have kept this woman alive, healthy, and radiant for the duration of her 92 years!  She was confident the body could heal itself, she knew that diet, exercise, and mental health were ALL important, and she had stories to back up every fact!  Needless to say, I told everyone in the audience to take it from her, what do I know compared to someone who has lived it for 92 years?!!!

Our DNA is programmed to function for 120 years if all goes well.  Obviously, there are many times in life where things don’t go perfectly, and many of those things are out of our control.  However, that is no excuse to make deadly decisions with things we CAN control.  Feeding our bodies the right foods, getting appropriate exercise, and making sure stress levels are minimal are all essential if you want to get the most out of your potential 120 years.  No magic bullet will get you there; that’s for sure.  I am often humbled by my patients because everyone lives a unique journey, but as a natural health practitioner, the opportunity to present health information to a 92-year-old woman of that health status is like meeting a celebrity!  I always say that I want to live to be 100 and meeting that woman last night solidified that hope. 😉

Leave a Reply

