Skip to content
January 27, 2012 / amberwoodterracechiro

Last day of food log: Post-workout recovery

 This is a picture of me finding my max clean and jerk a few months ago.  I did a very similar workout last night, and when I lift, I try to make sure I have a recovery drink.  So, I have yet to post anything from the athlete perspective of pre- and post-workout fuel.  I won’t go into a ton of detail, but will try to hit a few major points.

Thursday:

Breakfast: black coffee, a couple of protein balls, 1/2 pint blueberries

Snack: another protein ball and some more blueberries

Lunch: leftovers from several meals…;)  Some spaghetti from the squash night, a couple of those dang red potatoes that I found more of!, and 2 chicken thighs from the night before

Workout: Clean and Jerk maxes

Post workout recovery drink: 20g of whey protein concentrate in water, glass of veggie juice (this veggie juice was made from broccoli stalks and asparagus ends that are too woody to eat, 1 apple)

Dinner: Pork Chop w/shredded and sautéed brussels sprouts

Snack: 2 spoonfuls of coconut butter out of the jar

As many of you know, I do not consume dairy products.  Therefore, there may be some of you that are wondering how whey protein can be acceptable in a diet that does not include dairy.  It is a good question and deserves some explanation.  There are a couple of reasons that dairy should not be in someone’s diet and one of them is lactose.  When you isolate the protein from dairy, it does not contain the milk sugar (lactose).  The other reason dairy is excluded is due to pasteurization, there is very little micronutrient content left after pasteurization.  For this particular purpose, I am not worried about micronutrients or beneficial bacteria, I am simply interested in a high level of biologically available protein that will easily assimilate.  With that being said, whey protein DOES still increase mucus production in the body.  That would be a downfall and the reason that many may choose to use an egg white protein powder instead.  When looking for a good source of whey, a few things are important.  You want to make sure that the cows are eating what they are supposed to eat: grass.  You also want it to be cold processed, have no artificial sweeteners, and you want it to be a “concentrate” as opposed to an “isolate.”  I could go on and on about protein powder supplementation but I will save you the reading and go straight to the ones that are my favorite.  Mercola has a protein powder that is excellent but has to be ordered off the internet and you pay for shipping on top of the expense of the powder.  Down to Earth is a health food store in Granger, IN and they have a really awesome vanilla version of their own private label.  It will not hit ALL of the pros that the Mercola one will, but you can go to the store and buy it, which makes it more convenient.  Also, I have personally tasted quite a few, and that one is by far my favorite tasting and easily mixes with liquid.

When it comes to maintaining muscle, most people do not lift heavy enough or often enough for there to be a true need for protein powder.  You can easily get some protein from a couple of eggs after a workout.  However, those trying to actually put on muscle (especially if you are trying to do it quickly), protein supplementation is a must after lifting.  Your body needs certain building blocks to create muscle and it simply won’t happen if those blocks are absent.  So, determine what your goals are, and that will tell you if YOU need to supplement with a protein drink after a workout.  I will say that heavy runners are often the opposite, they need to replace glycogen stores, which means quick sugars right away as opposed to protein.  Currently, my goal is to add muscle; therefore, I have chosen to supplement with whey protein.  I will be entering the Crossfit Games Open this year, and the weights they have the girls throw around are often heavy considering my body weight.  I will keep you posted on how it’s going but I’m hoping the additional muscle will help me excel. 😉

Leave a Reply

