Skip to content
February 22, 2012 / amberwoodterracechiro

Crossfit Games: The Fittest On Earth

All of you Crossfitters out there know that this week starts the Crossfit Games Open.  My trainer (in the pic) convinced me to sign up.  For those of you that are unfamiliar, the Crossfit Games Open is an open fitness challenge that allows athletes within their region to complete assigned workouts to determine who is fit enough to advance.  Once all the best athletes have made it to the final games, the winner is deemed the “Fittest on Earth.”  The reason they can make that statement is pretty simple; they are amazing athletes in EVERYTHING.  Not only can they outrun you in a race, they can lift heavier weights and keep up with the best gymnasts.  So, if entering a contest like that isn’t daunting enough, I don’t know what is.  However, I am taking it as an opportunity to share moments in my life that scare me to death.  When I am working with patients and doing demos on how to perform pullups, cleans, and balance skills, I often get the statement “Looks easy enough” followed by “Holy crap, you made that look so easy!”  I’m here to tell you that I have moments where things aren’t easy for me either.  I have an amazing trainer named Carole; and she’s over 40 people! (Sorry Carole….let the cat out!)

Last night we had a workout where 95lb cleans were assigned.  I looked at the bar, thought to myself about how that many reps with that much weight was probably going to push my limits.  I had a feeling that I probably wouldn’t finish even close to the top girls.  So, I grabbed my bar, waited for Cathy to start the timer, and started methodically doing my cleans.  I was one of the last girls to leave the lifting room and get over to the pull up bars.  About 4 rounds in, I noticed that I wasn’t doing too bad, and I was actually keeping pace with my trainer!   By the 5th round, I actually passed Carole on the box jumps and beat her to the final round of cleans.  I knew I had to pick up that bar, and quick!  I started my cleans, heard her pick up her bar and before I knew it, she was off to the pull up bar.  Are you serious?!  How does she do that?!?!  No time to think about that!  I made it to the pull up bar, and she was about halfway through her set….tried my best to catch her….but I didn’t.  She ended that round with a few box jumps under her belt.  When I spoke with her after the workout, she told me that she was watching me out of the corner of her eye and telling herself she had to beat me to the box jumps or there was a really good chance I’d pass her on that last round….

I get to put my name on the board behind Carole fairly often.  Let’s face it, she may be older than me, but she’s still got it!  However, those are the moments when I feel like my patients:  she makes stuff look easy and it seems like I could never keep up.  I know what it is like to have someone constantly pushing your envelope, and the Crossfit Open will be no different for me.  I plan on doing my best, even if my best pales in comparison to the crazy good athletes I am going against.  This is an opportunity for all of you guys that think I make stuff “look so easy” to see me in your shoes.  It will be a good lesson for me in giving something 100%, sticking to it, and being proud of my placement. I plan to keep everyone updated on how things are going with me and all my teammates throughout the Open.

Once you embark on the challenge of PROGRESS as opposed to PERFECTION, you will be amazed by your accomplishments.  Just like Carole having to keep an eye on me in a challenge that should’ve killed me, I may have to keep an eye out for you before I know it!

Leave a Reply

