Skip to content
February 29, 2012 / amberwoodterracechiro

Cheesecake?! Yes, Cheesecake. ;)


Dairy is not a typical part of my diet for various reasons; however, for the 6 weeks that I am in the Crossfit Open, I need large amounts of protein for recovery. It has been easier for me to attain those protein levels with the addition of some dairy into my day. So, my mom really loves making cheesecake, and I really love eating cheesecake. 😉 I called her up and told her that I would be eating dairy for the next 6 weeks if she had any plans to make cheesecake. The kicker was that there could not be any wheat products in it and the dairy needed to be organic. She doctored up her cheesecake recipe into a Primal Cheesecake recipe, and within a couple days, I had some cheesecake waiting for me! Gotta love your momma!
I am certainly not a food photographer, and therefore, the image does not do it justice!….and I only wanted a tiny piece…. It tasted just like real cheesecake and she even said that if she makes cheesecake again, that she will probably use the crust from this recipe because it was so delicious! She gave me the go-ahead to post the recipe for those of you that may also be enjoying dairy at the moment.
Primal Cheesecake
crust:
1 1/2 cups almond meal (organic)
1/2 stick butter (gluten free)
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tbsp agave nectar (organic)

mix together, press in springform pan. bake at 350 for 8 min

filling:
1 1/2 pounds cream cheese (softened)
3/4 C agave nectar (organic)
2 tablespoons coconut flour (organic)
2 teaspoon vanilla extract
4 eggs (organic)
2 tablespoons heavy cream (organic)

beat cream cheese until smooth. slowly add each of the following
ingredients. DO NOT OVERMIX! Pour over crust.

Put pan of water in 325 oven.bake at 325 for 45 min., turn off oven
leaving cake in the oven for 1 more hour. Remove from oven and
slowly cool.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Shane Blotkamp / Mar 1 2012 9:03 pm

    Oh my birthday is in June. 10 pounds and that is my reward with fresh strawberries organic of course

  2. drangelalucterhand / Mar 2 2012 10:30 am

    Nice. Strawberries are part of the dirty dozen….so make sure they are definitely organic! As you can see in the photo, I ate mine with frozen blueberries that I bought at peak ripeness last summer and froze for winter enjoying!

    • Shane Blotkamp / Mar 2 2012 9:18 pm

      Of course believe it or not I did pay attention.

  3. Cathy Anderson / Mar 6 2012 9:30 am

    Yum! Carole mentioned that you were going to share! Gonna have to try it. But, definately need to take it to a group get-together. Could get out of control if left at home 🙂 I made paleo banana bread french toast Sunday. Awesome. It was from paleomg website. She’s got some pretty good recipes. Going to try her sweet potato chocolate brownies…..she’s pretty good at keeping the sugar subs down as well.

    • drangelalucterhand / Mar 6 2012 10:39 am

      Let me know how it goes! I think next on my mom’s list of experiments is chocolate cheesecake. Maybe I’ll have to bring it in to the Friday night workout….she only has a few more weeks though before dairy goes bye-bye again!

Trackbacks

  1. Primal Pumpkin Cheesecake | Amberwood Terrace Chiropractic

Leave a Reply

