Skip to content
March 9, 2012 / amberwoodterracechiro

Where’s the beef?! Fast food in the house!

It’s patient appreciation month here in the office and we are running contests, giveaways, and having fun!  One of the contests that we are doing is a burger challenge.  As I was driving past McDonald’s one day on my way to work, my mind instantly fell back to a time in high school when we had a White Castle burger in our classroom for an entire semester without it growing mold.  I thought to myself “I wonder if a McDonald’s burger would grow mold…probably not.”  Then I instantly realized that I was being presumptuous! If I’m going to make that kind of assumption, I need to test it out.  Then I considered how I may be considered a bully if I just do McDonald’s!  So, we went out and bought a burger from McDonald’s, Burger King, and Wendy’s.  I printed out the nutrition facts and the ingredients and posted them next to their respective  owner.  Now we want you guys to vote on which burger you think will grow mold first, if at all.  Your correct answer enters you into a drawing for a FREE spot in April’s nutrition class.

 When I went searching for the photo to put on this blog post, I came across another blog.  The lady does speaking engagements on health for children.  She took this picture of the burgers that she has purchased.  The one on the right was purchased in 1998 if I recall correctly and the one on the left was purchased in 2008 in order for her to obtain the super cool bag.  Obviously, we know how her experiment played out, but we wanted to conduct our own.  Considering every single hamburger that we bought lists beef as the only ingredient, it will be an interesting month. Please excuse the smell if there happens to grow an odor!

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Cathy Anderson / Mar 9 2012 12:20 pm

    Too funny Angela! I’m not sure any of them will. But I will say Wendy’s will grow mold first…..

    • drangelalucterhand / Mar 9 2012 12:42 pm

      I’ll fill out a slip for you with your vote unless you wanna take a gander yourself and decide when you see them on our mantle!

  2. Brook / Mar 9 2012 5:04 pm

    I vote for Wendy’s!!!

  3. shane blotkamp / Mar 9 2012 11:09 pm

    I also vote for Wendy’s

    • drangelalucterhand / Mar 10 2012 9:17 am

      Love high intensity interval training as you know! 😉 I have actually read that article before. Thanks for shooting it my way though because I’m constantly reading, researching, and trying to keep up with the latest!

    • drangelalucterhand / Mar 10 2012 9:19 am

      FYI- If anyone battles diabetes or just wants to get the most bang for their buck exercising, they should read the article that Shane posted!

Leave a Reply

