Skip to content
April 1, 2012 / amberwoodterracechiro

Paleo Brunch

20120401-110407.jpg

My favorite place to go to brunch is The Uptown Kitchen in Heritage Square, Granger. I always go off the strict Paleo wagon in order to experience the gluten free pancakes they are serving that day. They have a gluten free chef that does an awesome job; however, she bakes/cooks most of her stuff with rice flour. If you have been to my nutrition class, you know that rice is a ‘tweener’ in my Paleo guidelines because while it is a grain, white rice has no antinutrient component and is free of gluten. So…..that equals acceptable indulgence for those that do not need to lose weight. If you are suffering from excessive weight, blood sugar regulation issues, or an autoimmune disorder, rice flour is still a definite ‘NO’!

I have good news though! My close friends and family know that I am not much of a morning person. I love my sleep, and I take full advantage of sleeping in on Sunday. Nothing better than rolling out of bed and heading to a brunch that you enjoy and don’t have to clean up after! BUT, sometimes I am in such a lazy mood that I don’t want to change out of my pj’s. This is where today’s blog originated. I decided to roll out of bed and make brunch at home. I fried up some bacon that I had delivered from Honored Prairie Farms last month. (One of the girls at the office always says” Bacon is meat candy!”…..especially if it comes from happy, healthy, appropriately fed pigs. ) I made some organic coffee in my French Press ( coffee is a heavily sprayed crop: buy organic). To finish things off, I made some coconut flour pancakes with a twist. I am always trying to find ways to fit more vegetables, protein, and herbs/spices into food in order to create healthier versions. I have made pancakes with coconut flour, almond flour, a combo, and many more varieties, but I actually loved these pancakes. So, I’m sharing them with you for 3 reasons: 1. Crossfitters are always looking for ways to increase their protein, 2. There are absolutely no grains or dairy whatsoever in these pancakes, making them an awesome option for those with food allergies, autoimmune disorders, or digestive issues, and 3. They have zucchini in them, and many of you will find an overabundance of this healthy vegetable in your garden this year!

I used the coconut flour pancake recipe from nourishing days website to draw from, so feel free to go back to the basics by looking up their original version.

Zucchini Coconut Flour Pancakes

Ingredients:
4 eggs
1 cup coconut milk ( full fat)
1 tsp vanilla
1 Tbsp raw, local honey (optional)
1/2 cup coconut flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp Himalayan salt
1 Tbsp cinnamon
1 scoop vanilla protein powder (24g)
1-2 cups shredded zucchini
Butter or coconut oil for frying

Instructions:
1. Preheat griddle over medium-low heat. In a small bowl beat eggs until frothy, about two minutes. Mix in milk, vanilla, and honey.
2. In a medium-sized bowl combine coconut flour, protein powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon, and whisk together. Stir wet mixture into dry until coconut flour is incorporated.
3. Mix in shredded zucchini.
4. Grease pan with butter or coconut oil. Ladle a few tablespoons of batter into pan for each pancake. Spread out slightly with the back of a spoon. The pancakes should be 2-3 inches in diameter and fairly thick. Cook for a few minutes on each side, until the tops dry out slightly and the bottoms start to brown. Flip and cook an additional 2-3 minutes.
5.Serve hot with butter, coconut oil, honey, pure maple syrup, or fruit.

That’s it folks! Brunch at home, following Paleo guidelines, and saving you money!
For those interested in the protein content, I tried to figure out how many grams of protein per pancake.
4 eggs=28g
1 protein scoop= 19g (I use Down to Earth’s vanilla whey)
1/2 cup coconut flour=8g
1 cup full fat coconut milk=3g
Total protein=58g
I made 13 pancakes from the recipe, which leaves you with 4.5 g of protein per pancake. Eat 3 of these bad boys and you are rivaling the protein content of a couple eggs! 😉 I can never finish all the pancakes, so I often store them in the fridge and grab them Monday morning or eat them as a post workout recovery. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

