Skip to content
April 4, 2012 / amberwoodterracechiro

Health: A Do-It-Yourself Project

Today is a big birthday celebration at the office for Amberwood Terrace Chiropractic, and for those of you wondering how many burpees that would be, we are only 5 years of age. 😉  We have the entire office decorated with balloons, giveaways, and snacks.  I’m going to be honest when I say that the snack selection was not an easy one.  There was some pull to have a cake (who celebrates a birthday without cake, right?!).  It is a cost-effective, crowd pleaser to say the least.  However, I am a nutrition expert people!  I have dedicated my life to helping people reach optimal health, and nutrition plays a huge role in that.  So, I very gently put my foot down.  I absolutely did not want to put out snacks for my patients that I wouldn’t eat myself.  When I showed up to work today and saw 4 different flavors of Paleo scones, fruit trays, ATC water bottles, etc sprawled out for patients to enjoy, I couldn’t help but feel good about the decision to make healthy snacks.  It would have been much easier to pay the bakery to make a sugary pile of poison, and many patients would have been more than happy to indulge.  However, Michelle spent lots of time baking, and the ingredients consisted of only things that I would feed myself or the people I love. The whole thing brought an old fable to the forefront of my mind.  I always treat my patients as if it is my dad or mom sitting across from me.  What would I want for my family?  How would I treat my family if they presented with this condition?  What would I choose for myself?  Lots of times, the answer to these questions do not line up with what you think a patient wants.  Many patients want a quick fix.  Many patients would have preferred a dang birthday cake over Paleo scones.  Many patients WANTED to eat the hamburgers that were on our mantle last month! (BTW-NONE of them grew mold!)

So, I wanted to share this fable with you in hopes that you can take something away from it.  It reflects on choices you make for yourself, but also the quality of choices that you make when the consequences seemingly don’t affect you.

An elderly carpenter was ready to retire.  He told his employer- contractor of his plans to leave the home-building business and live a more leisurely life with his wife enjoying his extended family. He would miss the paycheck, but he needed to retire.

 The contractor was sorry to see his good worker go and asked if he could build just one more house, as a personal favor. The carpenter said yes, but in time it was easy to see that his heart was not in it. He resorted to shoddy  workmanship and used inferior materials. It was an unfortunate way to end his career.

 When the carpenter finished his work and the builder came to inspect the house the contractor handed the front-door key to the carpenter. “This is your house,” he said, “my gift to you.”

 What a shock! What a shame! If he had only known he was building his own house, he would have done it all so differently.  Now he had to live in the home that he had built none too well.

 So it is with us.  We build our lives in a distracted way, reacting rather than acting, willing to put up with less than the best.  At important points we do not give the job our best effort. Then with a shock, we look at the situation we have created and find that we are now living in the house we have built. If we had realized that, we would have done it differently.

 Think of yourself as the carpenter. Think about your house.  Each day you hammer a nail, place a board, and erect a wall.  Build wisely.

 It is the only life you will ever build. Even if you love it for only one more, that day deserves to be lived graciously and with dignity.

 The plaque on the wall says, “Life is a do-it-yourself-project.”

 Who could say it more clearly? Your life today is the result of your attitudes and choices in the past.  Your life tomorrow will be the result of your attitudes and the choices you make today.

Leave a Reply

