Skip to content
April 22, 2012 / amberwoodterracechiro

How to Throw a Paleo Party

20120422-114050.jpg
I often peruse through Paleo blogs in search of new recipes to try out. Variety is the spice of life, and I love food…so, it’s only natural that I can spend hours watching the food network, looking at cookbooks, and reading food blogs! I was reading through a blog post recently where a commenter said “I wish I could go to a party where they served paleo anything!” It is so true. Making good decisions at a party can be difficult, and having a buffet of acceptable options definitely brings down the decision-making stress.
Last night, I went to a party for a fellow Crossfitter’s birthday, and I’m going to share a glimpse of what party food actually looks like when almost everyone there eats a Paleo style diet. I have to say the first thing is always MEAT! So, bacon wrapped, stuffed pork loin was the main course alongside grilled vegetables, such as onions, squash, avocado, romaine lettuce, and more! There were also roasted apple and parsnip…Mmmmm. I personally brought a Waldorf tuna salad on jicama as an appetizer (I decided on that AFTER I made sure dessert was covered!) However, there were bacon wrapped stuffed dates, chicken wings, and a balsamic tomato, mozzarella dish for those enjoying dairy. People brought various types of salads to enjoy and wine to drink. After the meal, dessert was on the menu, and I’m not gonna lie….I love dessert! Holly brought chocolate, carmel, coffee bars that were awesome. They are pictured above and you can find the recipe at http://paleomg.com/chocolate-coffee-caramel-bars/. Cathy made almond flour chocolate cake that she converted into brownies ( I had 3!) And can I just say, the birthday cake was an entire tray of chocolate covered strawberries with candles. Ha!
So there you have it, friends, amazing food, some wine, and you’ve got yourself a successful Paleo party!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Cathy Anderson / Apr 23 2012 11:12 am

    It was soo awesome wasn’t it!!! So glad you blogged it, because when I got up Sunday morning I was thinking the very same thing and also commented to Holly this morning at workout. I didn’t have to feel guilty about ANYTHING I ate that evening. And I was stuffed! I’m not sure how many times I filled my plate with veggies, but I do know that I will be grilling my romaine lettuce leaves! (Oh and I happily served my kids “dessert” last night…..they LOVE the chocolate cake!)

Leave a Reply

