Skip to content
April 26, 2012 / amberwoodterracechiro

Granola: Apparently People Miss Granola!

I totally took this picture from another blog.  Can I get in trouble for that?!  Anyway, when I was posting my food diary for April’s nutrition class, I mentioned that I had homemade granola a couple times.  I couldn’t believe how many people asked me for the recipe!  So, apparently people miss granola when they venture into the grain-free world. So, I promised to post the recipe for everyone.  I have to preface this recipe with the fact that I NEVER measure for things like this.  So, it is my best guess as to what I did.  I think it’s more convenient to use what’s in your pantry…so feel free to use whichever nuts you have on hand, and don’t be ashamed if you prefer a different dried fruit!

*Lurong folks: 1/4 of this recipe would give you your sugar quota for the day

Granola:

1 cup sliced almonds (I think this is key because it gives you the “oat” effect)

1/2 cup pecans, chopped

1/2 cup walnuts, chopped

1/2 cup unsweetened, shredded coconut (I wouldn’t leave this out because the spices really adhere to it!…but would be fine without)

1/4 cup coconut oil, melted

1/4 cup raw honey

1 tsp salt (please keep the salt!  I love the salty/sweet effect!)

1 tbsp cinnamon

1 cup raisins

1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees.

2. Mix all the ingredients together except the raisins.

3. Put on a baking sheet (I put aluminum foil down prior)

4. Bake for 20-25 minutes, stirring occasionally

5. When done baking, mix in dried fruit

6. Store in baggies for easy grabbing or put a tub in the pantry!

In my blog post, I showed a picture of me having it for breakfast….I put some granola in a bowl, topped with frozen blueberries, and dolloped on some coconut milk.  Let me know how your granola results come out, and if you have a great recipe, please share. 😉

Leave a Reply

