Skip to content
May 25, 2012 / amberwoodterracechiro

The Lowdown on Summer Sunscreen and Relieve a Sunburn

 

Volleyball started last night, and it was a good 90 degrees out there.  I am not complaining! However, it does bring up the idea about sunscreen, and what are the best options out there.  I posted a link to a good article with statistics, biology, etc. on the ATC facebook page, so check it out.  In addition, I wanted to post a few important pieces of information and give a run down of my own experiments.  First of all, I posted that I did not use sunscreen at all last summer.  That is true in the sense that I did put anything on my body to protect myself from the rays.  I decided to try an internal sunscreen last year.  I used the product from Mercola, which originates from marine algae.  It’s actually the same stuff that makes salmon pink!  I only burned one time.  I am outside all the time in the summer enjoying lakes, rivers, pools, beaches, etc.  The one time that I did burn, I was on vacation in South Carolina and I spent the entire day at the beach without any EXTRA protection.  It was not a bad burn, but a burn none the less.  You want to avoid burning completely, but you don’t want to completely avoid the sun’s rays in order to do so!  Vitamin D is such an important vitamin for health, and we produce VitD from the sun.  15 minutes a day of full sun exposure without sunscreen will render you “enough” vitamin D for the day.

I have tried natural sunscreens in the past, and many are uncomfortable to wear.  The reason is because most natural products use zinc oxide as their active ingredient.  These kinds of products need to “sit” between the sun and you; therefore, they often feel cakey.  This year, I opted to not do the internal sunscreen simply because I do not believe we should supplement too much with things outside of food.  So, what’s a girl to do?  This year, I am going to try the time tested coconut oil.  That’s right.  I am going to use the same stuff that I use to cook with as my sun protection.  Tropical cultures have been doing this for centuries, and if it’s good enough for them, it’s good enough for me.  I will let you know how it goes.  Until then, I want you to really investigate your sunscreen options because the  last thing you want to happen is that you block your source of Vitamin D production in addition to letting toxic chemicals leach right into the bloodstream!

If you do happen to get a burn, what is the most natural and best way to relieve the discomfort.  Well, a burn is nothing more than inflammation.  So, increase your fish oil for one.  Aloe is an awesome option; have an aloe plant in the house.  They are super easy to take care of, cheap source of burn relief, and there is no substitute in a bottle.  The other thing you can do is use yogurt.  The structures present in yogurt will help soothe your skin and speed up the healing process.  Makes sense if you follow the idea that you shouldn’t put anything on your skin that you wouldn’t put in your mouth!

 

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Adalberto Goy / Feb 6 2013 10:12 pm

    Aloe Vera is commonly used to treat sunburn. As well as providing soothing relief, it may also assist in the healing process. Apply to the affected areas as needed. Although the gel extracted directly from an aloe Vera plant works best, if you don’t have ready access to one, you may use an ‘over the counter’ Aloe Vera Cream that contains the gel. For this to be effective, just ensure that the cream contains a high concentration of Aloe Vera than it does water or other solutions.*

    Take a look at all of the most recently released post on our own blog site
    <http://www.foodsupplementcenter.com/stevia-vs-truvia/

Trackbacks

  1. What you need to know about Sunburn « Well For Living

Leave a Reply

