Skip to content
July 19, 2012 / amberwoodterracechiro

Quality Meat Should Be At the Top of Your Food Priorities

My mom shared this comic with me yesterday, so I had to share it with you guys.  She always knows exactly what’ll get me to laugh.  However, while the comic is funny, it is super serious.  I am not joking when I tell patients that eating meat that has been produced from feedlot animals that are sick is one of the worst things you can do for your health.  When animals are not fed what their supposed to eat, they get sick.  When they get sick, they must be treated with medications.  I don’t know about you, but the thought of eating a cow that has been fed grain, has been sick it’s whole life, therefore pumped with antibiotics, not been able to move around does not sound appetizing.  I am willing to make a small investment in the quality meat from farmers that take the extra steps to feed their animals appropriately, let them out to pasture, and slaughter them when they are naturally ready.  This means they are able to produce less and it costs them more.  I get that.  So, I also get that I will have to pay a little more for that product.  When I look down the line though, I have to wonder how much my small investments will pay off when I am 40, 50, 60, 70, 80, 90….and saving so much on healthcare costs.  Not only will I have more money in my retirement years, but I will have a better quality of life than others my age.  Sounds like a good idea to me!  So, I encourage all of you to think about it, and make a decision that is right for you and your family.  I personally have been ordering my meat from Honored Prairie.  They are a group of farmers working together to provide an online ordering system that allows you to get everything from pig to cow to honey and pick it up at a location near you.  Check it out online!  If you would like a brochure, just stop in the office, we have some in the front. 😉

Leave a Reply

