Skip to content
August 10, 2012 / amberwoodterracechiro

What Do You Do With an Abundance of Zucchini? Make Bread!

It’s that time of year when squash and zucchini are getting out of control!  I can only handle squash and zucchini so many times in a day!  So, I had to start thinking up ways to use some of the beautiful, nutritious, and overabundant produce.  Most people think of zucchini as savory; I have made spaghetti noodles with it, grilled it, roasted it, given it away, and I still have about 10 on my counter at home.  Then, I turn to bread.  I don’t bake that much, but desperate times called for desperate measures.  I have zucchini bread recipes that I’ve adapted to Paleo over the years but I decided to try a new one by “The Unrefined Kitchen” because it was a completely coconut flour bread.  Since it is all coconut flour, you have to use a lot of eggs….which equals a lot of nutritious protein.  So I gave it a try and not only did I love it, but everyone else that tried it thought the same.  So, instead of reinventing the wheel, I’m going to share their recipe with you!

http://www.unrefinedkitchen.com/2011/08/30/coconut-flour-zucchini-bread-with-crumble-topping/

I did not use the crumble topping because I am lazy, but it was wonderful just the same.  I doubled it in order to make 2 loaves…and yes, that meant 16 eggs!  I also did not have any applesauce so I used pureed pumpkin that I had on hand to substitute.  My whole idea was to make a couple loaves, eat one, freeze one for later.  However, both loaves were gone in less than a week.  My next attempt will be to freeze part of a loaf to see how it holds up.  That way I’ll have it all year round to pull out and consume whenever my heart desires a little zucchini, out-of-season. 😉

*Lurong folks: leave off the topping.  Use only baking soda.

Coconut Flour Zucchini Bread (with Crumble Topping)

Topping Ingredients:
1/3 cup walnuts, chopped
3 Tbsp. sifted coconut flour
1 Tbsp. coconut oil
1 Tbsp. honey
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/8 tsp. salt

Bread Ingredients:
8 eggs
3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
1/3 cup honey
3/4 cup grated zucchini
1 tsp. vanilla
3/4 cup sifted coconut flour
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. baking powder
1 1/2 Tbsp. cinnamon

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. Mix topping ingredients together in a bowl with a fork until crumbly. Set aside.
3. In a large mixing bowl, beat eggs, applesauce and honey with electric mixer (or whisk well).
4. Mix in zucchini and vanilla.
5. In a separate bowl, mix coconut flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda and cinnamon together.
6. Combine dry ingredients with wet ingredients and mix until there are no lumps.
7. Pour into greased loaf pan and sprinkle crumble mixture evenly on top.
8. Bake at 350 for 55-60 minutes or until toothpick inserted comes out clean.

*Store in fridge.
*You can make this bread without the topping as well!

*UPDATE: I have made this a few different ways now due to ingredient availability, so I wanted to report.  One time I ran out of coconut flour while making a double batch, so I was forced to sub about 1/4 cup of almond flour or so, and I really enjoyed the texture of those loaves.  That same time, I only had maple syrup on hand and no honey. I also subbed all the applesauce with pumpkin.  The second time I made this, I used all coconut flour, subbed all applesauce for pumpkin, and used maple syrup; I did not like the texture quite as much but tasted pretty much the same.  Third time I made it, I used all coconut flour but ran outta pumpkin (because I made pumpkin ice cream 😉 ), so I subbed 1/4 cup of pumpkin with grassfed butter.  I also finally had more honey on hand, so used that as my sweetener.  I think this may have been my favorite loaf.  However, I don’t think it was because of the taste…they were all pretty similar.   It was because I used parchment paper in my bread pans!  I was able to just lift the loaves out with the edges of the paper that were sticking up and put them on a cooling rack before they went into the fridge.  This was wonderful for the texture, and ALL of the edges stayed in tact.  When I simply greased the bread pan, it always stuck and I am convinced that weird things happened the parts that sat in the pan too long.  So, If I was going to make one recommendation, USE PARCHMENT PAPER IN THE PAN!  Other than that, use what you have in the pantry; just know that the applesauce in most recipes is replacing the oil.  You can use almost anything with that consistency to replace it.  Try using pumpkin, sweet potato, banana (it will taste like banana), butter, coconut oil, etc. Hope this helps!  I still haven’t tried the crumble topping but Cathy said hers was awesome when she made it that way. 😉

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Shelley Savchuk / Aug 28 2012 9:35 am

    I made this and it was wonderful. My hubby and son also enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing.

    • drangelalucterhand / Aug 29 2012 10:21 am

      That’s awesome! I’m glad you guys enjoyed it. 😉

  2. making bread / May 5 2014 10:59 am

    Admiring the persistence you put into your site and in
    depth information you provide. It’s nice to come across a blog every
    once in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed material.

    Excellent read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS
    feeds to my Google account.

Trackbacks

  1. Pretty Awesome Zucchini Bread & An Organizing Moment « Easy-Going Organizer
  2. Disappearing Zucchini Bread « More Than Oregano
  3. CSA Week 6: Zucchini Ice Cream and Beet, Carrot, Ginger Juice | Amberwood Terrace Chiropractic

Leave a Reply

