Skip to content
August 27, 2012 / amberwoodterracechiro

Veggie Ice cream?

 

20120827-213051.jpg

*Lurong folks use half the sweetener and use honey instead

Homemade Coconut Milk Pumpkin Pie Ice Cream
1 can full fat coconut milk
2 cups pumpkin puree
1/2 cup pure maple syrup
2 egg yolks
1 tbsp vanilla extract
1 tbsp cinnamon
1 tsp ginger
1/2 tsp nutmeg

Mix it all together until smooth, put in the ice cream maker, and enjoy when it’s done!

*update: I LOVED this ice cream! Makes me eager for fall:)

I finally am able to use my homemade extracts! The vanilla smells like vanilla instead of burning my nostrils like vodka! Now all I have to do is use some to test it out. Just in time for holiday season! When I use a little, I can just add back in that much vodka and it’ll keep making more. 🙂 worth the wait!
Also, I tried making sauerkraut for those of you that wondered and it got moldy on top. Ugh. I probably won’t try it again because I just don’t have a ton of time. However, I tried making pickles out of the cucumbers that the CSA gave me….that is a pretty awesome option for someone who doesn’t really like cucumbers! I also pickled jalapeños! These are super easy and if anyone wants those recipes, just let me know!

Leave a Reply

