Skip to content
October 30, 2012 / amberwoodterracechiro

Paleo Ginger Molasses Cookies

I know you are all wondering where I have been lately?!  Well, I’ve been knee deep in research, reading posts from other bloggers, and trying to perfect the Paleo Ginger Molasses Cookie.  I have a secret obsession with Liz Lovely’s Gluten-Free Ginger Molasses Cookie.  However, I try to avoid eating too many because while they are gluten-free, they are not grain-free. So, my determined self has decided that I am going to replicate that dang cookie…paleo style!  Well, 3 batches later, I still haven’t perfected it, but I’ve made some pretty awesome versions.  So, instead of making you guys wait any longer for a blog post, I’m going to share what I’ve come up with thus far.

Ginger Molasses Cookies

Ingredients:

2 1/2 cup blanched almond flour

1/2 cup coconut flour

1/2 cup grassfed butter (or coconut oil)

1/4-1/2 cup organic unsulfered molasses (depends on how much you like molasses)

1/2 cup pure maple syrup

1/2 tsp grated fresh ginger

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground ginger

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp real salt

1/2 tsp cloves

1/4 tsp cardamon

1/2 tsp baking soda

chopped crystallized ginger for topping (the only ingredients should be sugar and ginger)

Instructions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Sift the almond flour, coconut flour, baking soda, and dry spices together in a large bowl.

Place the molasses in a sauce pan on the stove top and heat until it begins to form bubbles.  Take off the heat and add in the butter, maple syrup, vanilla, and ginger. Stir until completely combined.

Pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients and stir until well combined.

Place the bowl of dough into the fridge while you place parchment paper on your baking sheets and chop up your crystallized ginger.

When ready, use a tablespoon to portion out the dough, roll it between your palms, press it onto the cooking sheet.  Sprinkle the ginger onto the top of each.

Bake for 10 minutes or until the cookies start to set!

So, I have done several versions.  I have used half the syrup: those were less sweet.  I have used half the molasses: those didn’t have enough molasses flavor.  I have rolled the dough in organic evaporated cane juice: those had the added texture but didn’t change the flavor enough to warrant the extra sugar.  I have added the crystallized ginger prior to baking, after baking, midway through baking, and I have even added it throughout the dough as opposed to on top: don’t try to add it post baking because it won’t stick.

Every single version has been absolutely addicting.  I have yet to “perfect” it, but I could not stand to keep the secret anymore.  Especially with holidays around the corner, these are a must-have. 😉

 

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Johne137 / Aug 13 2014 12:54 am

    Hey very nice blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your website and take the feeds alsoI am happy to find a lot of useful info here in the post, we need work out more techniques in this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . . begecadcddeb

Trackbacks

  1. Ginger Molasses Cookies « ngnrdgrl

Leave a Reply

