Skip to content
November 8, 2012 / amberwoodterracechiro

Canine Crossfit

Yes, I love Crossfit.  Yes, I love my dogs.  The problem is that when I go to Crossfit, I am NOT exercising my dogs!  How terrible am I as an owner?!?!?!  No need to tell me!  I already feel bad!  Before my Crossfit days, I would exercise in ways that included my dogs.  If I went for a run, they went for a run, if I was doing interval sprints, they (well the one with good knees) were doing sprints, if I was doing push ups, they were practicing patience. 😉  Lately, my youngest dog has become so ornery.  She will behave just fine until she starts getting bored.  I can’t say that I blame her though.  If someone left me at 7 in the morning and didn’t come home until after 8pm, I’d find stuff to do, too!  So, I started thinking about this issue and how I can get workouts in at the same time that my dogs get exercise.  Tam helped me come up with “canine crossfit.”  I think we should start a special class, Carole.  Just saying.

Anyway-  This is how it works, if your dog is driven by toys, get a ball.  Throw the ball as far as you can.  As the dog chases the ball, do as many push ups as you can before he/she brings it back.  Repeat 10 times.  Then change it up!  For the next 10 throws, do squats.  Then burpees.  By the time you have played ball for a mere 10 minutes, you will be dead.  I promise you that.  The extra plus is that the dog will be tired too!  No more mischievous behavior when you are away.

However, the more I started thinking about this concept.  You can totally use your dog in more ways than that!  Pick that dog up and use it as a sandbag!  Let’s hope you have a docile dog. 😉  You never know when you might need this skill.  What if you were on a hike and your dog broke a leg?!  You better be able to carry it!  Or let’s be honest, my dogs weigh around 60 lbs.  They are not lap dogs, but how many times do I pick them up to give them a kiss?  Everyday it seems like!  If your dog is smaller and tolerable, do squats with that fury friend.  Instant weight you didn’t have to buy.  Who am I kidding, just take your dog to the park and try to keep up with it!  Somehow humans ended up on the short end of the racing stick.

I guess I’m telling you not to forget about your canine companions.  They need movement, too.  So, if you don’t have time to do individual sessions for the both of you, combine them!

 

Leave a Reply

