Skip to content
December 15, 2012 / amberwoodterracechiro

Homemade Pear Sauce and Paleo Thin Mints

This morning I showed up at the gym to workout and exchange my Paleo cookies. There were 10 of us girls baking cookies to trade for the holidays. I just did this big post about my favorites that I’ve done before and yet I decided to make something completely new because I wanted to do something that would change the flavor profiles up from what the others were doing. It was awesome….I got everything from Paleo buckeyes, brittle, fudge, truffles, and several different cookie variations. I decided to make the age old girl scout cookie: the thin mint. Nothing like mint chocolate!
I hope the girls like them! I’m posting the recipe here so it is always accessible through the web (we all know how things get lost!)

Thin Mints
1 C Almond Flour
1/4 C Coconut Flour
1 Egg
1/2 tsp Salt
¼ C Cocoa powder
3 Tbsp raw honey
2 tsp peppermint extract
1/8 cup coconut oil, melted ( could prob use butter)
Coconut oil

1 C dark chocolate chips (over 60% or Enjoy Life brand)
1 tsp peppermint extract

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350.
Mix all ingredients together until you can form a ball
Use coconut oil to oil your hands.
Using the dough, form 1-inch balls then flatten into discs.
Place on parchment paper and bake for 15 minutes or until discs look dry.
After cookies have cooled, place chocolate chips in microwave safe bowl and microwave at 30-second intervals until chips are melted.
Add oil to melted chocolate and stir.
Dip cookies in mint chocolate and place on wax paper. Let chill in refrigerator to harden. Enjoy!

I multiplied this batch by 5 and got 116 cookies….

Then today, I came home after my workout to the bag of pears that I bought almost a week ago! It was an entire bag of organic pears for $2! When there’s that kind of deal going on, I buy in bulk and homemake pear sauce. For those wondering how that works, it’s super easy and you can control what goes into it. I don’t even peel them. I cut them into cubes with no exact science. I put the cubes in a Dutch oven on the stove. Put a little bit of water in the bottom, maybe 1/4 cup for one bag of pears. Heat to a boil, then reduce to a simmer. Let it go with the lid on until you can mush it up! That’s it. Add cinnamon if you like. Eat it like applesauce. Use it in recipes instead of oil. Combine pears and apples. The possibilities are endless.

I could not resist posting this picture. Many of my friends know that I am concentrating on heavy lifting and getting my muscle up. I always welcome accountability. Next time you see me, ask if I’ve hit any personal bests or gotten my muscle up yet. 😉 Hopefully I’ll be able to say ‘yes’ soon!

20121215-145555.jpg

Leave a Reply

