Skip to content
December 26, 2012 / amberwoodterracechiro

Holidays gone Paleo

Pulled-Pork

This Christmas, I single-handedly ate about 120 paleo cookies.  I’m not so sure the Paleo cookie exchange was a good idea.  I am the cookie monster.  In addition to the thin mints that I made for the exchange, I tried to make one of my great grandma’s cookies that were always my favorite.  They were called whirlygigs and they were a peanut butter dough slathered in chocolate and rolled up into a log, which was then cut into individual size cookies! I obviously avoid wheat and all that crazy stuff, so I haven’t had them in years.  No reason that I couldn’t make them with healthy ingredients.  So, that’s exactly what I did.  I have made a lot of things in a Paleo fashion and even these ingredients took me to unknown territory.  One of the things that I had to substitute was shortening.  Disgusting!  I can’t believe I ate that!  However, coconut oil or grassfed butter work just as well.  Another thing I had to sub was peanut butter.  I love nut butters but I will not sit here and lie to you about almond butter being just like peanut butter.  That would be the biggest lie to date.  However, it is not a lie when I tell you that substituting sunbutter (from sunflower seeds) really does taste like peanut butter!  The other ingredient that I was nervous about substituting was sugar.  Granulated sugar gives a much different texture than honey or maple syrup.  So, for the first time in my paleo career, I went out and bought coconut sugar.  It tastes just like brown sugar and is granulated.

The cookies were an epic fail.  Terrible attempt at grandma’s whirlygigs.  However, a brand new cookie was born.  A healthy, irresistible cookie.  Who doesn’t love peanut butter and chocolate together?!  I will post the recipe soon.  They are my new favorites.  Even people that don’t eat Paleo said they may even be better than the real deal.  Don’t be afraid to fail, something magical may happen anyway. 😉

Also, I have to give my mom kudos for making a paleo dish for our family Christmas.  She took it upon herself to research Paleo pulled pork.  She emailed me the recipe for approval, I gave her a couple others to pull from in case she wanted to doctor it at all, and she gathered all the organic ingredients she could find.  She was so worried about it tasting nasty. lol…..how could it taste nasty?!  It’s just pork and seasoning in the slow cooker!  By the time I showed up to the house, it was almost gone!  One guy even went for 3rds 4ths and 5ths!  I did get to try it…and it was amazing.  I hate BBQ sauce, so I was a little worried simply because it’s not my cup of tea; however, the pork was awesome.

http://recipesbyelizabeth.blogspot.com/2012/03/paleo-bbq-pulled-pork-sandwich.html

This was the recipe for the BBQ sauce that she used.  She ended up using pork tenderloin instead and it worked wonderfully.  Nothing like a good ole Paleo holiday.  😉

Leave a Reply

