Skip to content
January 3, 2013 / amberwoodterracechiro

2013: It’s not a sprint

for tomorrowNew Year’s Resolutions…..I am not sure that I have ever actually made one.  However, I know that many people do.  What I always notice is that often times people make resolutions that reflect all the things they wish they could be.  People want to lose weight, or keep a cleaner house, or quit smoking.  Hardly anyone makes a resolution to celebrate who they are.  As a result, many people experience failure when it comes to these resolutions.  Who wants to be set up for failure?!  Can you imagine what would happen if every person who is dreaming of becoming a size 2 this year made a resolution to love where they are, embrace imperfections, and do things that make life more fun?  My guess is that we would have a lot more women having fun in a happier state and losing weight because that is often a result of fun things!  (I also read in a popular magazine that men find confidence more attractive than a perfect body…just saying.) I am in no way saying that people should not set goals or want to be the best versions of themselves; however, resolutions should not be stressful.  Maybe everyone should just decide they are going to do more of whatever is fun to them.  Period.

I ran across this quote the other day and I thought it was perfect for this post.  I want to be the first to publicly say that resolutions centered around changing who you are often times do not result in the desired effect.  For example, lets say your resolution is to lose weight.  Why do you want to lose weight?  Many people want to look better.  Why do you want to look better?  That will make you happy.  Wrong.  There will always be something that can be fixed or improved on or worked on.  Even the most beautiful people in the world think they could improve on themselves in some way shape or form.  So, if you’re REAL goal is to be happier, then do things that are fun, make you happy, and make you feel good about who you are!

As for me, I want to push myself this year to see how far I can go mentally, physically, and emotionally.  I want to experience life.  I want to have fun.  I want to smile everyday.  I want to get up when I fall down.  I want to have several days where I promise they are the worst days of my life…that always helps me appreciate the amazing day to follow.  I want to have moments where I want to give up in order to show myself how strong I really am.  I want to play with my dogs.  I want to enjoy good food.  I want to be healthy.  I want to do things everyday that get me closer to where I want to be tomorrow.

I once had a conversation with my friend, Chet about Crossfit and my struggles.  I would always tell him how I needed to get stronger.  I was one of you guys complaining that I wanted to be something that I wasn’t.  I also wanted to be the fastest time on the board.  I had to take a long hard look at my goals and actions and make a decision because I couldn’t have it both ways.  I went through a period where being the fastest was still what made me happy. 😉  However, as my goal changed to see how far I could push my limits, weights became something that I really did want to do.  They were no longer what I groaned at when I saw the workout.  I would talk to Chet about that competitive nature that always wanted to choose a lighter weight in order to ensure the fastest time.  He looked at me and said “Don’t train for today, train for where you want to be 6 months from now.”  Since that day, I have not been at the top of the scoreboard one time.  I have dedicated myself to lifting.  I have loved every minute of it.  I have had more days in the past few months that have pushed my limit than I have had in the past few years of being the fastest. I no longer want to be “stonger” per se; I want to see how far I can push myself physically and adding strength will likely be a byproduct.  I am on a journey, not a sprint.  I am having fun while pushing my limits, and that fact alone makes my resolution a success (even if I did technically start it before January 1st. 😉 )

Leave a Reply

