Skip to content
January 28, 2013 / amberwoodterracechiro

Things You Should Try

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

People were way too excited when I revealed the secret about my plantain chip obsession last week.  So, it made me think that maybe I was also holding in some other gems to share, too!  I’m going to list off some of the things that are Dr. Angela tested, approved, and everyone should at least try at some point!

1. Plantain Chips

2. Gingersnap larabars (however, many others would argue for the coconut cream pie)

3. Kombucha-fermented tea….try an approachable flavor first….like Strawberry.  It’s unlike anything you’ve tried before, so give it a fair shot. (just do NOT get the green one….it is so nasty)

4. Coconut butter.  Plain is awesome by the spoonful.  Nikki’s Coconut butter is amazing…I tried every flavor. http://www.nikkiscoconutbutter.com/

5. Shredded brussels sprouts.  In the quick and easy meal cookbook by Mark Sisson, there is a recipe for shredded brussels.  I basically use bacon fat and put the shredded brussels in and saute until slightly browned, add salt.  Soooo goood.

6. a CSA-Rise Up Farms is the organic CSA that I participate in and they even have work shares for those that want to work in their garden for food instead of paying for it.  http://riseupfarms.webs.com/2013csadetails.htm  It is $310 for 1/2 share.  It lasts 20 weeks, which works out to be about 15 bucks a week for all organic, local, in season produce.

7. Coconut flakes with cinnamon and sea salt. In the Well Fed cookbook, there is a recipe for coconut flakes that you put in a pan to brown up a little and sprinkle with cinnamon and salt (or whatever spices you are wanting).  They are kinda of like that sweet, salty, crunchy snack. 😉

Let me know if you end up trying any of the above!  I will try and keep my eyes open for some things that I do/eat that maybe you could benefit from!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Teri E / Jan 28 2013 8:11 pm

    Have done all but the plantain, brussel sprouts and your csa. CSAs don’t seem to work well for my large family… everything else is great tho! Can’t wait to torment the family with Mark Sisson’s brussel sprouts recipe! Thanks!

    • drangelalucterhand / Jan 30 2013 9:00 am

      I can imagine on the CSA thing…you probably don’t get enough of one thing for all your kids! They will thank you for the brussels. 😉 Bacon makes everything better! And…I promise your plantain chips won’t last long! They taste just like potato chips!

Leave a Reply

