Skip to content
April 1, 2013 / amberwoodterracechiro

Guess Who’s Back?! and Homemade Laundry Detergent

IMGP9373

Where do I start?!  I have been on vacation for the past week….and that means that I have tons to blog about!  So, bear with me while I try to catch you up this week. 😉  First of all…let’s talk about the Crossfit Open 13.3.  It was a repeat workout from last year.  150 wall balls?!  Geez!  I have to admit that I quit during this workout.  I have wanted to quit a million times before but I had never actually done it…until now.  I stopped around rep number 60.  Carole runs over to me and says “What’s going on?  Why aren’t you working?”  I said “I don’t want to do this (as I was bending over my clothes getting ready to put them back on).”  She says “Is it your back?”  I said “No (give me credit for being honest!)”  She then screams at me and points at the wall.  I felt like the child being carried back to the corner for time out.  I finished the workout and told myself that I could not believe I quit and would never do it again.

That brings me to 13.4.  Cleans and toes to bar.  Ugh.  Another set of movements that I can’t do!  I did a few of them while on vacation.  I’m mentally ready to finish up the open and take some time away from irritating movements.  I’m ready to heal.  Sometimes you just have to get to that head space.

Let’s back up to the Thursday before I left.  We had the Home, Health, and Beauty seminar.  It was a blast!  I can say that I am obsessed with the lotion bar that I bought!  I took it on the plane with me because it was NOT liquid!  That also spawned my desire to make my own lotion bar. 😉  I’ll keep you posted on that.  I also used the homemade laundry detergent in order to wash some of the clothes from vacation.  I have not folded them yet, but so far so good!  I also went to Meijer yesterday to pick up some food because it was the only place on earth open on Easter.  I will tell you that I found all of the ingredients for the laundry detergent in the laundry detergent aisle. This is all you need for cheap, easy, homemade, non-toxic detergent:

Homemade Laundry Detergent

2 bars of Felps Naptha ($1 each) (grated)

6 cups Borax ($5)

4 cups baking soda (a few bucks)

4 cups washing soda ($3.50)

Mix all these things together and store in a bin!  2Tbsp per load.  Boom. Less than $15 for months of natural laundry soap. 😉

If any of you have used your sample, I’d love to hear how it went for you!

This is Shelley’s liquid soap instructions!  Thanks Shelley!

My homemade liquid soap I use:
This can also be used in HE washers.

Large stock pot

Ingredients:
2 cups of washing Soda
2 Cups of Borax
1/4 cup Dr. Bronners Liquid Castille Soap
15-20 drops essential oil. (I use my lavender or eucalyptus)

Fill pot about 2/3 full of hot water, put on med. heat. Pour Borax and W.Sod in and stir. Add 1/4 cup of Bronners and the essential oil. Stir. Before it comes to a boil, remove from stove and empty into 5 gallon bucket. Fill stock pot again with hot water and pour into bucket. (It should make close to the 5 gallons, but really depends on the size of your pot.) I use my canning pot.

I have also been told that you can buy bronners liquid soap in peppermint, almond etc… I am not sure about that though.

It is also best to put some white vinegar into the fabric softener slot, this works really well and you don’t need fabric softener sheets..

 

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. drangelalucterhand2014 / Oct 14 2014 1:38 pm

    Reblogged this on Dr. Angela Lucterhand and commented:
    I had a nutrition patient decide to take my advice and start making her own laundry detergent! Yay! It’s so cheap, and I literally make mine every 6 months or so. I’m blogging the recipe again for anyone that needs a refresher!

Trackbacks

  1. Christmas! Start Thinking Ahead! | Dr. Angela Lucterhand

Leave a Reply

