Skip to content
June 5, 2013 / amberwoodterracechiro

CSA Week 1: Recipes from the Bounty

Cabbage soup

Week 1 of the CSA season has started!  Last night, I was so excited to pick up my produce!  I plan on listing weekly a good idea of what I get (I didn’t write down specifics!) and how I make use of it.  Without further ado:

1/2 CSA Share from Rise Up Farms:

head of lettuce

head of cabbage

turnips

radishes

garlic

loose mixed greens

bunch of collard greens

cilantro

Cabbage Soup:

1 head of cabbage, washed and chopped

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1 onion, diced

2 carrots, chopped

2 Tbsp cooking fat (I used the chicken fat off the top of the broth I was going to use, but tallow, coconut oil, butter, bacon fat are all good)

4-6 cups chicken stock (I used 4 because I prefer a heartier soup)

salt and pepper to taste

Chopped cooked chicken (I used about 2 cups from a leftover chicken, but you could easily run by the store and get a rotisserie if you wanted) OPTIONAL

Instructions:

Heat cooking fat over medium high heat and put in garlic, onion, carrot, salt, and pepper.  Cook for 5-7 minutes until the onion is translucent.  Put in chicken (optional) and cabbage.  Pour in your broth.  Heat the chicken through.  Done!  I put 1/2 in the fridge for meals this week and half in the freezer for easy leftovers.

Roasted radishes, turnips, garlic:

Preheat oven to 415 degrees.  Chop radishes and turnips into 1 inch cubes.  Smother them in cooking fat of choice and season with salt and pepper.  Roast for 15 minutes.  Mmmm.

Make your CILANTRO last!

Store your cilantro in a cup with water and cover the top with a baggy.  It should stay this way for 2 weeks in the fridge!

 

Leave a Reply

