Skip to content
June 13, 2013 / amberwoodterracechiro

CSA Week 2: Recipes from the Bounty

photo (38)

This week, I picked up my CSA bounty and knew that many of the same things from week one would be returning.  I needed to think ahead to what concoctions I would come up with this week.

I picked up:

radishes

turnip

braising greens

salad

lettuce

cabbage

garlic scapes

dill

kale

I still had the cilantro in my fridge from last week (because the storage method works beautifully!) and I thought how amazing it would pair with the garlic scapes….so….

This turned out absolutely amazing.  I was able to freeze some of the leftover and I can’t wait for the winter month when I pull that puppy out and remember how delicious it was!

Cilantro & Garlic Scape Pesto:

1 bunch of cilantro, ends removed

2 garlic scapes

handful of chives (or garlic clove or more scapes)

2 handfuls of walnuts

1/4 cup olive oil (or more depending on how creamy you want it)

2 pinches of salt

pepper to taste

few good shakes of crushed red pepper flakes (these happened to be homemade from last year’s dried chili’s)

Directions:

Put the cilantro, garlic scapes, chives, walnuts in the food processor and pulse until they are a coarse meal.  Put in the salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, and run a stream of olive oil in while its processing until you get a chunky/creamy texture.  Serve on top of any meat, mushroom caps, eggs, etc.

Pesto is so versatile and easy to freeze.  It helps dress up any boring meat easily.  I chose to grilled up some grassfed flank steak and serve pesto on top.  I put it on top of the salad blend I got from the CSA.  Absolutely fabulous.  This is what I love about the CSA.  I didn’t know what a garlic scape was and I had definitely never cooked with them.  Forced me out of my comfort zone and now I know just how much I like them!  I hope we get more next week because I have thought up a million more way to use them!!!

Leave a Reply

