Skip to content
June 20, 2013 / amberwoodterracechiro

CSA Week 3: Turnip, Green Onion, and Dill Slaw

photo (40)

Week 3 of the CSA bounty:

Collard greens

Chard

Salad mix

Lettuce

Green Onions

Turnip

Garlic

Parsley

Cilantro

After picking up my goodies this week, I immediately became fixated on the huge turnip I had.  Lettuce is a pretty obvious food to deal with in most situations but the turnip was something that I wanted to play around with.  I’ve roasted them many times and I have even done mashed turnips (which are great btw).  This time, I only had one though and I wanted to do it justice.  The first thing that popped into my head was a slaw because I never eat them raw.  It was worth a shot! I also had plenty of dill to use from last week…

Ingredients:

1 big turnip, shredded (I used the food processor)

1 green onion, diced (white and green)

1 garlic clove, diced

1 lemon, zest and juice

1/4-1/2 cup EVOO (depends of how “wet” you like your slaw and how big your turnip was!)

1/4 tsp mustard powder (or 1tsp of Dijon mustard)

2-3 Tbsp fresh dill

salt and pepper to taste

Optional (extra shredded carrot, shredded bussels sprouts (I had some I needed to use so this is what I chose), shredded kohlrabi…get creative)

Directions:

Combine shredded turnip, green onion, dill, lemon zest and any extra shredded veggies you chose into a bowl.  Then combine EVOO, lemon juice, garlic, mustard powder, salt, and pepper and whisk until combined nicely.  Pour the dressing over the veggies and toss to combine.

What a better way to use the turnip, green onion, garlic, and dill?!?!  It’s worth a try if you’ve never experienced a turnip raw. 😉

Leave a Reply

