Skip to content
July 11, 2013 / amberwoodterracechiro

CSA Week 6: Paleo Zucchini Ice Cream and Beet, Carrot, Ginger Juice

rise up farms

This photo has nothing to do with what I actually got this week. However, it is a picture of one of the farmers harvesting purple potatoes and I thought it was too pretty not to post. I roasted my purple potatoes last week. 😉

Bounty:

9 zucchini

9 squash

1 bunch of kale

1 bunch of chard

1 onion

2.2 lbs green beans

1 bunch of radishes

1 bunch of carrots

5 cucumbers

1 turnip

1 kohlrabi

salad mix

head of cabbage

some broccoli

parsely

4 beets

Everyday since I picked up this week, I have been dreaming up ways to use my zucchini and squash because more is coming quickly when I peek into my own garden. First and foremost I gave some away. What’s better than letting others share in the abundance?! Zucchini chips? Zucchini hummus? I have already made multiple loaves of zucchini bread. I never forgot how much I love zucchini pancakes. Zucchini lasagna is on the agenda and I have to attempt a casserole. I’m going to be a zucchini expert! I got home from work one day and thought myself how much I love zucchini bread, why not make zucchini ice cream? I like pumpkin ice cream, so I should like zucchini ice cream. Brain child was born.

Zucchini ice cream:
1 zucchini pealed and pureed in a food processor
1/4 cup pure maple syrup
2 cans full fat coconut milk
3 egg yolks
1 tsp vanilla
1 Tbsp cinnamon
Pinch of cardamon

Directions:
Blend or puree all the ingredients together in a bowl and use in the ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.
It tasted really good although I used a really large zucchini, so the texture may have been slushier than normal ice cream; so, I have doubled the coconut milk in the recipe. Since I used the entire zucchini, it’s hard to tell how much it measured out to be. I would use 1 cup and move down to 1/2 cup if you don’t think it’s creamy enough. Either way, the taste is great!

When it comes to the beets this week, I couldn’t stop thinking how amazing some beet and carrot juice sounded. Done. Fresh, organic beet, carrot, and ginger juice it is! There was no method to my madness on this one. Just stuck the beets (with their tops) and some carrots and small piece of ginger into the juicer and called it a day!

Leave a Reply

