Skip to content
July 24, 2013 / amberwoodterracechiro

CSA Week 8: Stuffed Zucchini; Cucumber and Watermelon Salad

zucchini boatsLast week, I promised to post a recipe for turnip gratin if it turned out.  Well, there’s no recipe for a reason.  Epic fail.  Took way too long to slice, it really needed cheese to hold it together, and it came out tasting like regular ole roasted turnips.  You live and you learn, but no more turnip gratin attempts for me.  The other thing I tried making were zucchini chips in the dehydrator.  I used olive oil, salt, pepper, and a little paprika.  They came out the size of a quarter!  The dehydrator made them mini chips!  An entire zucchini fit into a small sandwich bag, which made it pretty easy to eat an entire zucchini in one sitting.  If I do it again, I will slice them a little thicker, but we will see.  I haven’t had much luck making chips in the dehydrator anyway.  On a zucchini note, one of my patients emailed me last week a recipe for zucchini boats.  There were a couple things I needed to sub out, but I knew I had to try them.

*I forgot to tell you what I got this week! I will try to remember to the best of my ability….

7 squash

1 heirloom zucchini

1 zucchini

6 tomatoes

8 potatoes

5 onions

5 leeks

2 turnips

parsley

salad mix

dill

1 bunch kale

1 bunch chard

3 cucumbers

broccoli

2 large okra

(I think I remember seeing a bunch of radishes on the board….but must have forgotten to grab them!  oops!)

Paleo Zucchini Boats

Ingredients:

3-4 large zucchini

2 lbs ground meat (I used seasoned pork sausage but beef would be great!)

1 onion, diced

1 large tomato, diced

4 cloves garlic, minced

2 Tbsp thyme, diced

2 Tbsp oregano, diced

splash of balsamic vinegar

salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.  Cut zucchini in half lengthwise and scoop out the centers in order to make space for the filling.  Drizzle the zucchini with olive oil and bake for 20 minutes.  While the zucchini are baking, brown your meat on the stove top.  Once browned, add onion, tomato, and the middle of the zucchini.  Once the veggies are tender, add the spices and balsamic and cook for another 5 minutes.  Pull the zucchini out of the oven and stuff with the filling from the stovetop.  Place back in the oven for another 30 minutes.

Cucumber and Watermelon Salad

Cucumbers, sliced

Watermelon, chopped

Lime Juice to coat

Handful chopped mint

Salt and pepper to taste

Leave a Reply

