Skip to content
August 7, 2013 / amberwoodterracechiro

CSA Week 10: Cucumber, Tomato, and Tuna Salad and Braised Red Cabbage with Onion and Apple

photo (1)

The photo is not of the recipes posted, but I couldn’t resist taking a picture of this meal anyway.  It was some collard greens from the previous week and zucchini noodles smothered in pesto.  I’m pretty obsessed with pesto.  Anyway, let’s talk about the chicken.  I butchered it myself!  I did a pretty good job, although it felt a little “too close to home.”  I’m not sure breaking legs and hacking through joints is my calling, but I did it none the less.  I made an awesome plum sauce that was sort of like a sweet bbq sauce to grill them with from the plums in my back yard.  I was so excited since this year was the first year that the tree made plums!

We are officially halfway through the CSA season!  Week 10 down, 10 more to go.  They are selling half-season shares if you are interested!  Let’s go over what I brought from the farm, to the gym, and home to prep…lol…sometimes it just has to travel with me!  I haven’t quite hit the breaking point yet, but I am starting to feel the overwhelming abundance of veggies!  If you know me, you know that I ABSOLUTELY hate wasting food or throwing things away because they went bad.  So, Tuesday night was a frenzy trying to cook up the veggies from last week that were left and prepping those that I got that day.

Week 10 Bounty:

5 yellow squash

18 purple potatoes

12 tomatoes

10 cucumbers

tons of basil

2 green peppers (one I exchanged for the dill I could’ve taken)

5 onions

1 bunch kale

1 bunch chard

1 head purple cabbage

some edamame

some broccoli

1 head garlic

2 turnips

2 beets

5 leeks

1 daikon radish

I believe that’s it but it’s hard to remember them all!!!

Cucumber, Tomato, Tuna Salad

1 cucumber

1-2 tomatoes

2 cans tuna

EVOO

1 Tbsp red wine vinegar

A few healthy sprinkles of chopped fresh basil

salt and pepper to taste

Place all the ingredients in a bowl and toss until well coated.  Enjoy for lunch!  You could easily switch it up with chicken and zucchini instead.  Playing with the type of vinegar and fresh herbs would completely change it up, too!  Don’t be afraid to experiment!!!!

Braised Red Cabbage w/Onion and Apple

Ingredients:

2 Tbsp butter or bacon grease

1-2 onions

1 head of red cabbage, thinly sliced

2 tart apples, chopped

3 Tbsp apple cider vinegar

salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Heat your butter over medium high heat and sauté your onion until translucent.  Add in your cabbage and vinegar until it turns a pretty light purple color.  Add your apple and salt and pepper and cook until tender.  Delicious with a pork chop!

Leave a Reply

