Skip to content
September 4, 2013 / amberwoodterracechiro

CSA Week 14: Mashed Turnips and Potatoes

turnipsCSA Week 14 Bounty:

2 watermelons

45 tomatoes

1 bunch of collard greens

3 beets (traded parsley)

3 turnips (traded basil)

9 okra (fried okra)

5 purple potatoes

4 sweet corn

1 jalapeno

1 red bell pepper

handful green beans

1 leek

1 Bok Choy

I just harvested a ton of basil, so I had to pass on that this week.  I opted to take mostly Roma tomatoes because those lend themselves for preserving a bit better than others; I use them for salsa, and they are awesome for tomato sauces.

As soon as I got home, I did my normal prep of cutting stems and putting greens in baggies, etc.  As I was looking at the bounty for the week, I instantly thought of southern food.  I decided to cook the corn on the cob, fry up some okra, roast some beets, and make a turnip/potato mash.  I threw a whole chicken in the crockpot that morning, so there you have it: dinner=chicken w/fried okra, mashed root veggies, and corn on the cob.  If I had any room left in my tummy, sliced watermelon would’ve been a perfect dessert.

Potato/Turnip Mash

Potatoes (we got 5 this week)

Turnips (we got 3 this week)

grassfed butter

salt and pepper

Directions:

Peel the potatoes and turnips and cut into cubes that are uniform.  Place them in salted boiling water and let simmer until you can easily pierce the veggies with a fork.  Drain the water out and place the veggies back in the pot.  Put in as much or as little butter as you want in order to keep them creamy.  Salt and pepper to taste and mash them up!  So good….;)  I don’t usually eat potatoes that often unless I get them from the CSA, but I have done mashed turnips and mashed parsnips many times!  No reason not to combine them!

Leave a Reply

