Skip to content
September 19, 2013 / amberwoodterracechiro

Paleo Pancakes 2.0 (lurong approved)

gluten-free-pancakesI want to start this post with the fact that I love my original paleo pancake recipe because you can leave out the sugar, protein powder, and zucchini and they are still great!  However, people sometimes have issues feeling like they don’t know whether or not things can be replaced or left out without screwing them up.  So, I recently got a new paleo cookbook called Primal Cravings.  I do not need any more cookbooks at this point but I got this one for one specific reason, the baked goods are made WITHOUT almond flour!  I love almonds.  I love baked goods.  I can eat an entire batch of my chocolate chip cookies in one sitting.  Hence the problem with so many baked goods being made with almond flour.  That would be an insane amount of almonds in one sitting! This is not good for 4 reasons: caloric intake, omega 6 content, and stunted digestion from too many nuts (especially since they aren’t sprouted), and expense.  Therefore, I try to make lots of my baked goods with coconut flour but let’s be honest, the texture of strict coconut flour baking is not nearly as appealing as almond flour.  So, new cookbook it is! These pancakes are my variation on their hazelnut coffee pancakes…and they are Lurong approved. 😉  You’re welcome!  Grab them on the go, slap some coconut butter on top, or have them as a snack…or make a McGriddle.  I’ve never actually had one of those, but I have heard of them.

Vanilla Pecan Pancakes

1/2 cup coconut flour

1/2 cup tapioca flour (cheap and easy to find)

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 cup chopped pecans

1 cup chilled coffee (coconut or almond milk would work too)

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

4 eggs

cooking fat to grease the pan (I like butter but I’m sure even bacon fat would be amazing.  Coconut oil is always a go-to, as well)

Directions:

Whisk together the dry ingredients.  Then add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients.  Heat the fat in the pan/griddle over medium heat until it sizzles when you flick water onto it.  Ladle the batter onto the skillet and cook about 2 minutes on each side!  Makes about 12.  Keep in the fridge for grab and go breakfast or sit down with some good ole butter and pure maple syrup if you are not on Lurong!

One Comment

Leave a Comment

Trackbacks

  1. Pancakes | The lifestyle

Leave a Reply

