Skip to content
October 17, 2013 / amberwoodterracechiro

CSA Week 20! Sweet Potato Fries

sweet-potato-fries

Final week bounty:

carrots

beets

leeks

purple potatoes

butternut squash

bell peppers

chard

kale

sweet potatoes

onion

garlic

tomatoes

green beans

broccoli

I can’t remember the rest.  It is officially the end of my summer CSA.  I can say that this season has been bountiful and the end is bittersweet.  I always come to a point where I am tired of cooking and preserving and wish that nature put the breaks on production!  However, it is nice to be able to pull breads, dips, soups, and casseroles out of the freezer and not have to cook for a good portion of the winter!  I look forward to the cooler weather crops like Brussels sprouts, cauliflower, winter squash ,and of course pumpkin!  I love pumpkin ice cream, and I will probably make it at least 3 times before Christmas.  I was even talking about it so much that a lady at the salon said “OK, can I just pay you to make it and bring it to me?!”  It is really, THAT GOOD!

Back to what I did with my bounty.  I did a lot of the usual.  When I get tired of cooking, I start roasting veggies because all I have to do is stick them in the oven and heat them up all week long!  However, who doesn’t appreciate a good sweet potato fry?!

Sweet Potato Fries:

Cut your sweet potato in long thing strips (like fries).  Coat them in coconut oil or tallow or some other heat tolerant oil.  Sprinkle with salt, pepper, and paprika.  Bake in a 400 degree oven for 15-20 minutes.  Eat them all in one sitting; it’s ok. 😉 If you are on Lurong and want a “treat-ish experience” spinkle them with cinnamon instead!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jill Kattau / Oct 17 2013 9:00 am

    Sounds DELICIOUS!!! I can even do these! Since my house is so torn up right now, it will be a few days but I’m going to make these!

    • drangelalucterhand / Oct 17 2013 9:07 am

      They are so easy and you’ll be addicted! Don’t say I didn’t warn you!

Leave a Reply

