Skip to content
December 12, 2013 / amberwoodterracechiro

The Best Brownies Ever…(and they are paleo!)

Sweet-and-Salty-Brownies2-1-of-1

Remember how I told you that I found a new brownie recipe that I resisted posting for months because I didn’t want to taunt the girls in Lurong?  Well, I have made those brownies so many times now, it is ridiculous.  I have also made them for nutrition class and gotten rave reviews.  I have also made non-paleo peeps stuff them in their mouth without any disdain!  I have also had nutrition patients take them to Thanksgiving because they were that good!!! Yesterday, my hormones were outta control, so I decided I wanted to make some type of dessert with maca.  Maca is a plant known for its hormone balancing effects.  I thought it would go awesome in some brownies….and then I kept remembering how much I love the chocolate caramel coffee bars from PaleOMG because they have the salt chunks on top. Mmmm…salty sweet.  Baby was born.  I loved this version so much!!! However, you can omit the salt and maca and just have the best regular brownies, too. ;)…or just omit the maca and have salted brownies!!!

Salted Maca Brownies

Ingredients:

2 Tbsp tapioca flour

3 Tbsp coconut flour

1 Tbsp cocoa powder

2 Tbsp maca (optional)

1 stick grassfed butter (you could sub coconut oil)

1 cup dark chocolate chips (I’ve used chocolate bars, chocolate chips, and enjoy life chunks…all work)

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/3-1/2 coconut sugar (depending on how sweet you like it)

1/4 tsp salt

coarse ground salt to top (optional)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350.  Grease an 8×8 pan. Melt the butter, sugar, chocolate together on the stove top or in the microwave.  Once combined, add vanilla and eggs.  Add the rest of the dry ingredients .  Pour into pan and sprinkle salt on top.  Bake for around 20 minutes until the pan stops giggling on you. 😉

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Brandy / Dec 14 2013 12:07 pm

    Sounds yummy! Can’t wait to try this.

  2. drangelalucterhand2014 / Apr 30 2014 9:10 am

    Reblogged this on Dr. Angela Lucterhand.

Leave a Reply

